The Terminal

the-terminal-54d73a3db668a


One movie that really hits home for me is Steven Spielberg’s The Terminal. The Terminal stars Tom Hanks as Viktor Navorski, a traveler from the fictional country of Krakozhia. Navorski arrives in New York City with high hopes of exploring America. However, as he touches down on JFK International Airport, he is told that his home country has staged a coup against its government, and therefore his traveling papers are no longer valid. He is not allowed to step foot into American soil, which traps him in the airport lounge. Navorski eventually survives living in the airport with the help of airport employees, with whom he befriends. Not only that, but he manages to stay out of trouble by evading the temporary director of US Customs, Frank Dixon. Eventually, Navorski is granted permission to step onto American Soil, and he completes his goal of getting the autograph of a famous Jazz musician. After that, he heads straight back home.

I watched this movie with my parents right before we were moving to New Jersey. I was just a kid then, so it didn’t really mean as much to me as it did to my parents. My parents and I talked about this movie when I was a bit older, and they told me that it was such an inspirational movie for them. Sure, the fact that he got stuck in an airport freaked them out a little, but it’s a story of achieving your dreams in a foreign country.

This story is so inspirational because I think it’s relatable to foreigners everywhere. When you’re moving to a new country, especially the United States, it’s easy to think of all the things that could possibly go wrong. But in the end, all you really want is to step foot into the place where you believed all of your dreams could come true. I know that that’s why it was so important to my parents. This movie shows you that no matter what obstacles come in your way, patience and persistence gets you to the place you want to go. Not only that, but it has this subtle message saying that you can achieve your dreams once you step foot into the United States. That’s what happened for Navorski, and that’s what happened to my parents as well.

The reason why this movie is so popular between foreigners and Americans is because it’s a story about having big dreams, and being patient and working hard to achieve those dreams. Hard work is not strictly an American value. I think it’s highly regarded across various cultures. It may be a huge component of the American dream, but it’s important and it means something to people all over the world.

Did you know that this movie was based on a real life story? Check out an article about it here.

Also, check out this interview where Tom Hanks talks about how The Terminal was one of the movies that has meant the most to him. He says that his character of Viktor Navorski reminds him of his father-in-law. It’s the 6th movie on the list.

Favorite Quote: “Ever feel like you’re living in an airport?”

Leave a comment